Buy & Sell

Lot Details

Chinese and Asian Modern and Contemporary Art

Lot 133
SANYU (CHINESE, CHANG YU, 1901-1966)
Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase

Painted in 1931
oil on canvas
100 x 70.6 cm. (39 1/4 x 27 3/4 in.)
signed in Chinese; signed and dated 'SANYU 1931' (lower right)

Provenance

Henri-Pierre Roché, Paris, France (inventory number 100) Yvonne Vierne, Paris, France Christie's Hong Kong, 31 October 2004, Lot 659 Christie's Hong Kong, 26 November 2011, Lot 1007 Acquired from the above sale by the present owner

Literature

Sanyu Catalogue Raisonne Oil Paintings (II), The Li-Ching Cultural and Educational Foundation, Taipei, Taiwan, 2011 (illustrated, plate 271, p. 78).

Estimate
HKD 40,000,000 - 60,000,000
USD 0 - 0
Sold Price
HKD 55,460,000
USD 0

Remarks

Chrysanthemums in Full Bloom—A Key Work from Sanyu's “Pink Period”
The still-life genre was one that occupied Sanyu for at least four decades of his creative career. He loved most painting chrysanthemums in a vase, returning often to this theme in his many painted odes to that flower. He also wrote a poem, “The poet admires the autumn chrysanthemum's beauty; the scholar toasts it with his glass of wine,” reflecting the deep meanings it had acquired for him in the creative process. In the majority of such works Sanyu depicted just a single chrysanthemum, or a small number of blooms together. Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase, (Lot 133) however, is notable not only for its dimensions, the largest of any of his early chrysanthemum paintings, but also for its depiction of a dozen or more chrysanthemums in full bloom, among the most to appear in any of this artist's works. Pointing to a determination to push beyond his limits, Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase represents a summation, in a fully mature achievement, of Sanyu's work in the still-life genre during the 1930s.
Adding the year of creation to a painting, as he did when signing Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase, was rare for Sanyu. Based on currently available records and publications, the earliest extant Sanyu painting bearing a date is from 1929. Later in his career, even as late as 1965, we still find occasional dated paintings, but the number of works bearing dates from 1929 and 1931 far exceed those of any other years. From this we can infer the importance of those years in Sanyu's career. It was in 1929 that Sanyu made the acquaintance of French author and collector Henri-Pierre Roché, who then acted as Sanyu's agent in promoting his work. Their cooperation ended in 1932, but by 1931 Sanyu had already met the composer Johan Franco, who became not only a good friend but a patron as well, and supported Sanyu in many different ways. It was also at this time that Sanyu was invited to mount a solo gallery show. Elated with his early successes and feeling optimistic, a great many of Sanyu's paintings from this period featured palettes of mostly pink tones, into which he projected his aspirations and his hopefulness about life.
A Testament to Friendships in the Parisian Literary World
Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase resided in the collection of Mrs. Yvonne Vierne for over 70 years. This came about, first, as a result of Roché making her acquaintance at the end of 1921. At that time Vierne managed a bookstore with the name La Porte Étroite with a friend on rue Bonaparte in Paris, which, because it specialized in artistic publications and commentary, quickly became a favourite haunt of numerous well-known art critics and collectors. Those included André Gide, Maurice Sachs, and Roché, who during the 1925-28 period, had their writings independently published through the bookstore. Because of his relationship with the bookstore, Roché became a good friend of Mrs. Vierne, and in the prefaces of his published works often expressed his gratitude to her. His enthusiasm for and understanding of Sanyu's art influenced his friends too, and for Roché, the representative subject of Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase and its unusual scale made it suitable as an expression of gratitude and friendship, and he gave it to Vierne as a keepsake. Once she received it, it remained in the family collection and only appeared on the market for the first time in 2004. Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase is a symbol of rich relationships and friendships in 1930s Paris, and is also the finest example of how much appreciation Western collectors felt for important representative works by Sanyu early in his career.
Breakthroughs in Visual Experience and Multi-layered Spaces
The flower and vase subject of Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase appears in the center of Sanyu's pictorial space, where he breaks with realistic three-dimensional presentations by reconfiguring and reorganizing the spatial presentation. While the background appears to be pure white, subtle shades of blue emerge from its thick layers of pigment, which together with the bands of light pink at the sides, echo the hues of the chrysanthemums at the center. Sanyu brings together traditional Chinese aesthetics and the spatial presentation of Western still-lifes, creating a new twist in the concept of “empty space.” Following the development of modernist painting in the 20th century, the Post-Impressionists and Cubists broke with the long-standing pursuit of three-dimensional spatial depth, never hesitating to warp or flatten space in their effort to reduce the illusory depth within their paintings. In Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase, Sanyu's complex and unique painting techniques express depth along the vertical dimension of this perpendicular canvas. Sanyu first applied an underpainting in blue on the canvas ground and allowed it to dry, after which he painted the chrysanthemums in pink. Then, in the still-wet pink pigments, he scraped out the lines of their overlapping petals. These robust lines reveal both pink and indigo blue, and the resulting textures standing out from the flat canvas, bringing a revolutionary new kind of breakthrough in visual experience.
The curtains of pink at each side were a compositional element Sanyu often employed. Here, they serve as spatial partition and screen, and define the relationship between front and back layers. As Ji Cheng, a landscape gardener of the Ming dynasty said in his The Cultivation of Gardens, “It is appropriate to borrow an excellent view from another, when you have a line of sight with no barrier. Even the sight of a few flowers in a neighbouring garden creates a touching scene that adds great freshness.” The blocking curtains here indicate that we are not seeing the entire scene, yet because they are not clearly outlined against the background, both their presence and the degree to which they shield our view are somewhat vague. With the fall of these curtains from the top, however, solid form mixes and mingles with empty space; we cannot distinguish the distances between tabletop, background, flowers and vase, and curtains, or which is in front or behind the other. The flowers and the surrounding space thus interweave to create lines of motion for our eyes to follow at different levels. The painting's subject and its spaces flow into each other, interweaving to produce a visual pull between different layers. This resonates with Sanyu's linear depiction of the white vase, which gives the impression of having been outlined with just one brushstroke. The varying density of its outlines suggests the contrasts of darker and brighter areas due to the lighting, but this once again suggests a three-dimensional space rather than flatness. The vase's empty form is poised in front of the background, while the linear depiction of the blooms and their stems emerging from the vase create an unusual depth through the texture formation from the oil paints. The blending of these lines and patches of colour redefine the formal structure and space of the painting, producing a multi-dimensional feeling within the limited space of the canvas and communicating a Chinese view of life and the universe.
Chrysanthemum and Vase—The Traditional Awareness that Informed Sanyu's Career
According to the ancient Festivals and Seasonal Customs of the Jing-Chu Region, “To wear cornel, eat lotus, and drink chrysanthemum wine on the ninth day of the ninth lunar month will bring forth longevity.” The custom of drinking chrysanthemum wine on the Double Ninth holiday is clearly a time-honoured one; in Chinese folk belief, the chrysanthemum is an auspicious symbol of happiness and longevity. In addition, in a poem by Tao Yuanming called Drinking Wine, he writes, “Picking chrysanthemums by the eastern fence, you gaze leisurely at the southern mountains.” As praise for the chrysanthemum continued to be passed down through the years, it became symbolic of the character of the cultured person and a noble and virtuous simplicity, and the traditional scholars of China often wrote of it. For Sanyu it was not only an inspiration for his poetry but the subject of many paintings as well, and may have been connected with his long sojourn abroad in France. For Tao Yuanming, the chrysanthemum symbolized coming home to the countryside, and was a vehicle through which he expressed his inner feelings about the home he missed. If the chrysanthemums in his works expressed his moods, they also became a kind of personal emotional vehicle that helped him find, amid the circumstances of his life at the time, a frame of mind transcending the realities of ordinary life. Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase presents its subject in alternating cool and warm tones, though unlike Sanyu's late-period potted chrysanthemum paintings, which so artfully present the angles of their stems and leaves, here Sanyu employs his pink tonalities to depict their tall, erect posture and their lively blossoms. This work too reflects the circumstances of the artist's life and his outlook at the time, conveying his sense of confidence and affirmation toward the value of his own life and the world at large.
The vase and its chrysanthemums are the sole subject of Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase. In a painting that includes no other depictions of scene or setting, the artist intended not only to eliminate any indications of the particular moment, but also to reduce colour intensity and formal elements to an absolute minimum, expressing an inner spirit in a manner quite divergent from Western modernism. Sanyu thus returns to the viewpoint of the traditional Chinese scholar-painters, in which he conveys his thought by managing space in a manner apart from the world of everyday life. The very abstractness of the space makes it even more concretely a place apart, a retreat from the world; the artist's handling reinterprets and restructures normal time and space to produce a different space, one removed from our more common world. Because Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase lacks the normal markers of time and space, Sanyu's use of a formal vocabulary borrowed from traditional Chinese painting, along with the quietness of the flattened space in the painting, seem to make time stand still. The blooms become timeless, and the life essence and flourishing energy of the painting communicate the artist's own vitality and enthusiasm for life, his will and feeling. Engaging in his creativity for Sanyu meant continually engaging in dialogue with his recreated environments, out of which grew the happiness he enjoyed.
Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase captures the special aesthetics associated with the Eastern painting tradition; the structure of its formal elements, and Sanyu's redefinition of space, hide within them deeper hints of traditional Chinese culture and its aesthetic outlook. In his frequent depictions of chrysanthemums, Sanyu took their lofty and unsullied image as a kind of portrait of his own life in foreign lands. In Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase, however, he also injects abstract concepts that help structure its setting and subject, making it much more than a mere straightforward presentation of a still-life painted directly from life. The traditional awareness of the scholar-painter he inherited deepens the intrinsic forms of his canvas; he uses the painting to shape for the viewer a new sense of space and a new world view, reflecting his own unique life experience and his responses to the world around him. In Pink Chrysanthemums in a White Vase, Sanyu elevated his core concepts to a new and even higher level, revealing glimpses of the essential spirit that informed his entire creative career.
Property from the Collection of Wang Shiu-Kung
Stay up to date
Your subscription has been confirmed

购买与出售

拍品详细资料

中国及亚洲现当代艺术专场

Lot 133
常玉
白瓶粉红菊

1931 年作
油彩 画布
100 x 70.6 cm. (39 1/4 x 27 3/4 in.)
款识:玉 SANYU 1931(右下)

來源

法国 巴黎 亨利. 皮尔. 侯谢(库存第100号) 法国 巴黎 维纳夫人 佳士得 香港2004年10月31日 编号659 佳士得 香港2011年11月26日 编号1007 现藏者购自上述拍卖

出版

常玉油画全集 第二册》立青文教基金会 台北 台湾 2011年(图版,第271图,第78页)

估价
HKD 40,000,000 - 60,000,000
USD 0 - 0
成交价
HKD 55,460,000
USD 0

备注

菊蕊盈枝-粉红时期关键代表作
综观常玉一生的创作,静物主题横跨近四十年,其中尤以瓶菊为其最钟爱而反覆吟咏的题材,并曾写下诗句「秋菊诗人赏,文人对酒杯」,可想见他于创作中进一步反映菊花的深刻意涵。相较大多数作品多为单独或数枝菊花的特写,《白瓶粉红菊》(Lot 133) 不仅在尺幅上为早期作品最大的菊花作品,画面的十余朵菊花开放之盛,更是他描绘最多菊花的作品之一,显示艺术家企图突破自己的决心,可说完整代表了他在1930年代于静物主题的总结与完熟成就。
常玉在《白瓶粉红菊》的签名罕见地注明了年代,根据艺术家现有的相关著录与出版资料显示,目前有纪年的油画作品最早可追溯至1929年,往后直到1965年虽一直有零星的作品记录年代,但1929年与1931年的数量却远超过其他年份,也可推断这两年在常玉创作生涯的重要性。 1929年常玉结识法国著名的文人及收藏家—亨利.皮耶.侯谢,侯谢开始担任他的经纪人及推广他的画作,两人的合作虽于1932年结束。但1931年时常玉认识了作曲家约翰.法兰寇,法兰寇不仅与常玉结为好友,后成为他的赞助人,从各方面给予他帮助,常玉亦获画廊邀请接连举办个展,正是他踌躇满志、乐观豁达之时,此时期的创作大都以粉红色为画面主色调,亦寄托他对于生活的美好期待与向往。
见证1930年代巴黎文坛的友谊
《白瓶粉红菊》曾于伊凡.维纳夫人与其家族珍藏超过七十年,始自侯谢于1921年底认识了维纳夫人,当时维纳夫人于巴黎市中心的波纳帕街上与友人经营一家书店,名为「窄门」 ,由于书店的经营方向以专业的艺术刊物及艺术评论为主,立即受到当时许多知名艺评家及收藏家们的喜爱与支持,其中不乏著名艺评家:安德烈.纪德、莫里斯.萨克斯、以及侯谢等,在1925-28年间,这些艺评家亦将他们的评论交由这家书店独立出版发行。侯谢因为书店的关系进而与维纳夫人变成了好友,甚至在一些出版著作的前言中经常提及对维纳夫人的感谢。当时他对常玉作品的了解与热爱也影响了周遭的友人,《白瓶粉红菊》因作品的特殊尺幅与主题的代表性,寄托了他的感谢与相知,成为侯谢致赠维纳夫人的纪念。维纳夫人自获得此幅作品后便一直于其家族珍藏,至2004年才首次于市场曝光,它不仅象征了1930年代当时巴黎艺文界的交往盛况与情谊,也是常玉早期重要代表作品深受西方藏家欣赏的最佳例证。
视觉经验的跨越与多重空间层次
《白瓶粉红菊》将瓶花主体置于画面中央,常玉打破了现实的三度空间,重新进行空间的配置与组构,并无描绘背景与桌面的分隔,白色背景虽看似单纯,却在厚涂的层次中隐约出现了浅蓝色调,与画面两侧的粉红色块共同和菊花的色调相互呼应,常玉将西方静物画的空间感与中国传统美学的相结合,形成了「留白」概念的转折与变化。自二十世纪现代绘画发展以来,后印象派、立体主义等已打破了追求三度空间透视感的一贯做法,不惜曲折或压平空间努力减低画面的幻象深度,《白瓶粉红菊》以技法的繁复与特殊性表现了与表面垂直的纵向深度,常玉首先在画布底层涂布蓝色油彩,待干后以粉红色描绘菊花,颜料未干时再刮出花瓣的线条与层次,菊花在刮擦的硬朗线条中透出粉红与靛蓝色,肌理的厚度再次打破平面,为视觉经验带来革命性的跨越与突破。
画面左右两侧的粉色帘幕为常玉惯用的构图元素,此处不仅是空间的区隔与屏障,更定义了前后的层次关系,如明代造园专家计成在《园冶》中所说: 「倘嵌他人之胜,有一线相通,非为间绝,借景偏宜;若对邻氏之花,才几分消息,可以招呼,收春无尽。」帘幕的阻隔显示画面并非一览而尽,但与背景之间的轮廓并不清晰,仿佛似隔未隔、若即若离,透过帘幕由上而下的悬垂,虚实相融相间,我们无法判断桌面、背景、瓶菊与帘幕之间的距离与前后关系,主角与空间因而造成相互穿插、渗透的效果,产生了不同层次的视觉动线,更呼应常玉以白描手法写白色花瓶,瓶身的轮廓线仿佛一笔勾勒而成,线条的浓淡同时暗示了光线照射下的明暗变化,再度由纯粹的平面回归三度空间的描述。花瓶的留白与背景形成交错的前后关系,从瓶身的白描线条、花朵与枝叶以油彩肌理形成了特殊的空间深度,其间线条与色块的相互交融,显示画面对于形式的组构与空间的重新定义,在有限空间内创造出多重时空感受,传达了中国人特有的生命观与宇宙观。
瓶菊-贯彻创作生涯的文人意识
据《荆楚岁时记》载:「九月九日,佩茱萸,食莲耳,饮菊花酒,令人长寿。」可见重九日饮菊花酒的风俗由来已久,菊花在民间作为吉祥福寿的象征,另一方面,自陶渊明《饮酒》诗云:「采菊东篱下,悠然见南山」,在不断的传颂与吟咏下,菊花的形象成为文人典型性格与清高淡泊品格的代表。中国传统文人笔下常见之菊,不仅是常玉提笔作诗的灵感来源,于创作中频繁描绘,也许亦与旅居异乡的景况相关,菊花乃是陶渊明归居田园的象征,或借此表达了他的思乡之情与心底企盼。他透过作品咏菊托喻的情志内涵,更进一步成为个人的情感寄托,以至于能在当时的生命处境之外,开辟出一个超越于现实的人生意境。 《白瓶粉红菊》以交错的冷暖色调描写菊花,不若晚期的盆菊作品般着重枝叶的曲折角度,而是在画面的粉红色调中呈现出菊花的高挺姿态与热闹绽放,反映了常玉此时的生活现况与人生观,隐含着对自我与万物价值的自信和肯定。
常玉在《白瓶粉红菊》仅以瓶菊作为主角,画面并无其他实际场景的描写,艺术家不只意图除去所谓「当下」的特征,并将色块彩度与形式元素降至最低限,至此内在精神已与西方现代主义的观点大相径庭,常玉选择回归中国传统文人的观点,创造了非日常生活的空间经营以陈述他的思想脉络,画面的空间看似抽象,却俨然成为一个更具体的退隐场所,常玉经由画中的描述,重新诠释与架构时间与空间的意义,正是营造出一个非世俗的「异境」。 《白瓶粉红菊》缺乏时空的界定,中国传统形式语言的挪用与平面化的虚静空间,使时间仿佛停留于一瞬间,瓶菊的盛开貌似永恒,画中所讲述的生命本质与欣欣向荣,进而传达了艺术家关于生命、意志与情感的活力与跃动,透过创作的实践,不断地与重塑环境形成对话,生之乐也正是由此酝酿而生。
《白瓶粉红菊》撷取了东方绘画传统中特有的空间美学概念,画面对于形式的组构与空间的重新定义,隐含深刻的中国传统文化与美学观点;常玉一再书写瓶菊,不仅以高洁形象作为当时他旅居异乡的自身写照,《白瓶粉红菊》更融入抽象观念组构场景与物象,超越了原本静物写生的直观呈现,以文人意识的传承深化画面的内在形式,透过画作为观者构筑出新的空间感与世界观,反映了艺术家独特的生命经历与应世姿态,进一步将他的核心理念发扬光大,揭示了贯彻其创作生涯的重要精神线索。空间美学组构与空间的重新定义,隐含深刻的中国传统文化与美学观点;常玉一再书写瓶菊,不仅以高洁形象作为当时他旅居异乡的自身写照,《白瓶粉红菊》更融入抽象观念组构场景与物象,超越了原本静物写生的直观呈现,以文人意识的传承深化画面的内在形式,透过画作为观者构筑出新的空间感与世界观,反映了艺术家独特的生命经历与应世姿态,进一步将他的核心理念发扬光大,揭示了贯彻其创作生涯的重要精神线索。
"
接收最新消息
感谢您的订阅