Specialists

Chinese and Asian Modern & Contemporary Art

WU GUANZHONG (CHINESE, 1919-2010)
The Zhou Village

Painted in 1997
oil on canvas
148 x 297 cm. (58 1/4 x 117 in.)

Estimate
估價待詢
Estimate on Request
Sold Price
HKD 236,000,000
USD 30,451,613
SANYU (CHINESE, CHANG YU, 1901-1966)
Roses in a White Pitcher

Painted in 1929
oil on canvas
73 x 50 cm. (28 3/4 x 19 3/4 in.)

Estimate
估價待詢(Estimate on Request)
Sold Price
HKD 59,000,000
USD 7,612,903
WU GUANZHONG (CHINESE, 1919-2010)
Coastal City (Qingdao)

Painted in 1975
oil on board
46 × 61 cm. (18 x 24 in.)

Estimate
估價待詢
Estimate upon Request
Sold Price
HKD38,940,000
USD5,024,500

The Chinese and Asian Modern and Contemporary Art Department adopts a quality-over-quantity strategy in establishing a new direction for and concept of art collection, and aims to foster a closer relationship between art history and art collection with a precise academic standpoint, so as to spearhead a trend in the market, as well as to provide a comprehensive and systematic direction for collecting for art connoisseurs.

In 2016 spring auctions, "Chinese and Asian Modern and Contemporary Art" was a great success, with total receipts of HK$400 million, a historical high. Bidding for Wu Guanzhong's The Zhou Village began at HK$138 million, and sold for the high price of HK$236 million, not only setting a new auction record for any Wu Guanzhong work, but also a new world auction record for any modern or contemporary Chinese oil painting.

A unique strategy for the Department has made possible superb results over the other industry players: average auction rate reaching almost 90% (calculated at auction value) in the past three years, and every item fetching as high as HK$2.368 million on average. A further reason for this success is that each auction has a distinct theme, attempting to expand the taste and horizon of collectors. Various important themes have reached new heights: for example, “The Trajectory – An Overseas Collection of Oil Paintings from the Republican Era of China”, “New Wave – Oil Paintings in 1920s-1950s: A Prologue to Chinese Contemporary Art”, “Connecting Oil and Ink Media – Wu Guanzhong’s Important Works”, “Property from the Guy & Myriam Ullens Collection of Chinese Contemporary Art”, etc. “The Chinese Pioneers: To Artistic Freedom” even attracted bidding from international collectors, which shows the academically-oriented approach is much sought after. In the future, we will continue to provide the best collectibles with comprehensive perspective and historic research, and will expand to other parts of Asia or elsewhere in looking for treasures from Chinese artists, exploring the facets of art works and the possibility of contemplation. Through an auction platform that knows no boundaries between cultures from various parts of the world, we are integrating the East and the West, connecting the traditional with the modern, and striving for the possibility of maximum value.

Enquiries

+852 2303 9899
+852 2303 9875
cmca@polyauction.com.hk



Stay up to date
Your subscription has been confirmed

專家部門

中國及亞洲現當代藝術

吳冠中
周莊

1997 年作
油彩 畫布
148 x 297 cm. (58 1/4 x 117 in.)

估價
估價待詢
Estimate on Request
成交價
HKD 236,000,000
USD 30,451,613
常玉
薔薇花束

1929 年作
油彩 畫布
73 x 50 cm. (28 3/4 x 19 3/4 in.)

估價
估價待詢(Estimate on Request)
成交價
HKD 59,000,000
USD 7,612,903
吳冠中
濱海城市(青島)

1975 年作
油彩 木板
46 × 61 cm. (18 x 24 in.)

估價
估價待詢
Estimate upon Request
成交價
HKD38,940,000
USD5,024,500

「中國及亞洲現當代藝術」部門採取量少而精的策略,建立全新的藝術收藏方向與概念,致力以明確的學術定位,使藝術史與收藏產生更為密切的關聯,進一步成為推動市場的力量,為藏家梳理出完整又富系統性的收藏方向。

中國及亞洲現當代藝術2016春季拍賣成交額創下了歷年來的新高,高達近4億港元。吳冠中名作《周莊》以2.36億港元的高價成交,不僅創造吳冠中個人作品的拍賣紀錄,同時也刷新了中國現當代油畫的世界拍賣紀錄。

獨特的部門發展策略成功開創此拍賣項目超越同儕的優越成績。三年來平均成交率(按價值計算)近90%,平均單件拍品則達到236.8萬港元的高成交價,並以專題推廣的形式確立每場拍賣的主軸,尋求開拓藏家的品味與視野,多個重要專題都錄得突破佳績:如「軌跡—海外華人珍藏民國油畫」、「新潮—民國油畫揭開中國現代藝術序幕」、「水陸兼程:吳冠中油畫與彩墨專輯」、「尤倫斯夫婦重要中國當代藝術收藏」等。「中國先鋒派:要藝術自由」更引起國際藏家積極競拍,顯示學術面向的探討廣受關注。未來我們將持續為藏家展現廣泛的角度與深入的歷史脈絡,並以跨地域的亞洲或其他地區與中國藝術家作品的呈現與並置,開展藝術作品不同面向與思考的可能性,透過拍賣平台跨越地域與文化的界限,我們融合東西、連接傳統與現代,成就最大的價值可能。

垂詢

+852 2303 9899
+852 2303 9875
cmca@polyauction.com.hk



接收最新消息
感謝您的訂閱